Choosing shows, continued. Or, don’t make my mistakes

My mantra is don’t do a show you haven’t walked yourself, even if that means waiting a year.  I should have a sign made and hung above my computer – “Don’t do a show until you’ve walked it”.

I *did* a show this week, on a whim – no firsthand knowledge.  How was is?  Not good.   Aside from the not doing a show without seeing it firsthand, there is the part about not doing a show when the main event is not shopping for handmade.  I know this – I’ve said this, I’ve wrote this, but there I go – head first.  Stupid.

To my credit before I said yes to the show I google’d the demographics of the group that would be at the show – college educated, income in the six figures, etc., sounded good – except they were not at the event to see me, or any of the other handmade sellers.  I imagine we were a nice touch to the event, take a walk and look at the booths, have some food from the gourmet food trucks before heading back to the main event.

Lesson learned ….again.

1) never do a show until you walk it &  2) never do a show when *you* are not the main event.

~ by khmetalwork on December 8, 2012.

One Response to “Choosing shows, continued. Or, don’t make my mistakes”

  1. No matter if some one searches for his necessary thing, so he/she wishes to be available
    that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here.

Leave a Reply

 
