Putting yourself first

I never thought I was a ‘People Pleaser’, if you asked a few days ago what I thought of People Pleasers I would have said something not particularly complementary.  That was a few days ago…today I understand I am a People Pleaser, I put other people’s priorities above my own.

I went to a show on Saturday and while unloading my displays, I stretched into my car to pick up a box that was heavier than I remembered, and pull / torn some muscles in my back.  I saw stars for a moment, worked my way back to standing and told my son (my show assistant for the day), he’d have to unload the car alone.  I was/am in serious pain, but continued working to set up.  I really wanted to load it all back in and drive on home, but didn’t want to tell the organizer I was leaving – thought that wouldn’t be very nice. …not be very nice thing to do – I could barely move & felt a bit sick to my stomach, and I was concerned leaving wouldn’t be nice.

I learned a lesson, I am never going to do anything again to make someone else happy to my detriment.  I’m not sure if going home immediately would have made any difference in the physical pain I feel today – but for certain I wouldn’t feel like such a fool.  Today is my day – that phrase I thought so trite, ‘today is the first day of the rest of your life’ well, today is my day.   No more doing a show or staying at a show to make someone else happy.  No more taking custom orders I don’t want to make.  No more doing favors I don’t want to do.   So many ‘no mores’…

 

~ by khmetalwork on June 4, 2012.

One Response to “Putting yourself first”

  1. When you have a minor assert, establish whether it is worth every penny
    to submit along with your vehicle insurance organization. The policy
    offers financial assistance to repair your car and get it back on track.
    Indeed, the standard chain of events would be that you purchase
    the cover online, pay your initial first deposit, get confirmation that you’ll be covered and then receive notification that the cover is conditional upon you sending across the verifying paperwork within a particular timeframe.

Leave a Reply

 
