Thanks, now was that so hard?

I often get questions sent directly to me about techniques,  tools, where to buy, even which shows are good…I always answer these messages, always.  I don’t have any secret formulas or shopping haunts – whatever I know, I freely share.  I’ve learned from books, videos, workshops, asking questions – I believe in paying it back.  Yet…yet, I do not remember the last time someone actually said ‘Thank you’, and frankly it irritates me to the point of distraction – to the point of putting it in writing.

This week alone I received two direct messages asking for help; I did a little research, typed out the reply completed with links and neither person responded with so much as a ‘thanks’.  Part of me says let it go, you chose to share and it’s more about you than them, but the other part of me – the small petty part – thinks ‘are you kidding me!’

let it go, let it go, let it go….

 

 

 

~ by khmetalwork on March 8, 2012.

3 Responses to “Thanks, now was that so hard?”

  1. If you’re going to go to the trouble of explaining a technique, why not write a blog post about it?

  2. I agree..to thank someone is not difficult. Should one expect a thank you. ABSOLUTELY! That being said, I know there are many grateful artists that wholeheartedly appreciate your time and the willingness to share your knowledge freely! Thank you!

  3. Totally agree Karen. Quite often I’ve typed out a response but asked a follow-up question and gotten no reply. Makes me wonder if they even read their email !

    Could be because many folks get their emails on a smartphone these days and can’t reply at the time, then forget it. But then I could be rationalizing.

Leave a Reply

 
