teaching

A question about teaching classes was posting in a forum and being somewhat lazy this week I thought I’d post my reply about how I teach here…  I suspect I should have been a teacher – I love it and I’m pretty good at it.  Here’s my answer to the teaching jewelry projects question:

I teach chain mail classes in my home, at trade shows and in a school setting.  I never taught at a store because the owner wanted to sell all the supplies and the tools and pay me a pittance for teaching…yea, no.

I include supplies in the class price and have extra kits for purchase.  As far as class price – you are the only that can decide that: what are you willing to pay yourself? what are your expenses to teach the class – travel, parking, prep time?

The absolute key to teaching is ORGANIZATION – a must.  Secondly, a schedule is necessary if the class is going to finish on time – everyone’s time is valuable.  Don’t assume everyone/anyone wants to stay past the allotted time to finish.  Not everyone is going to finish – accept it, but don’t hold up everyone else for that one person.  Get everyone started on the next step, and you go back and help the person having difficulty.  Conversely, for those people who are faster – you may want to pull them aside and help them get started on the next step.

If possible, have someone there to help pass out kits, sell extra kits/supplies, answer a quick question or sit with that person who is having real difficulty with the project.

I organize the classes to build on knowledge, usually have 1 or 2 steps as mini projects (about 15 minutes each to complete) that once learned build confidence and makes understanding and executing the main project easy.  Again, all the supplies are individually packed and labeled, I passed them out as the class progresses so no one mistakenly uses the wrong kit for the project at hand.

Good luck & have fun!

~ by khmetalwork on January 21, 2011.

One Response to “teaching”

  1. I totally concur with Karen’s comments. I have been in Karen’s class, and although I have made chains in the past, I was one who was slower. I also felt badly about that.
    Karen had Emmie, her daughter as an assistant in the class, and that was very helpful.
    Taking a class is without equal insofar as learning. A dedicated, sharing teacher is priceless. In the long run, you do not save money by avoiding Workshops, you miss countless opportunities to work smarter. One tip can equal many saved hours of trial and error.
    Terrie

Leave a Reply

 
