Craftsmanship

Craftsmanship is near and dear to my heart. I love to make things with my hands I find that I most at peace when I am doing manual craft work – for that matter any type of manual work is very satisfying. What greater pleasure is there to wear a piece of your jewelry that has been made to the best of your ability – no shortcuts or regrets. (Truthfully, I feel the same way when my kitchen is perfectly clean.)

It seems the slow, thoughtful work that fine craft requires is generally unappreciated by the public and unfortunately by the craft community as well. We are all affected by the need to produce, especially when selling online – your patrons check your site waiting for a new item, if you don’t add new items regularly your patrons move on and you find yourself at the bottom of the heap. Make it – just get it done, photograph it, upload it all in one day is the goal; not art, not craft.

more thinking to do……

~ by khmetalwork on November 5, 2009.

5 Responses to “Craftsmanship”

  1. Well stated. You know I’m in total agreement with you.

  2. I agree – to a point. I think a lot of people have some “bread and butter items” that help allow them to produce more art pieces that take longer, when you get lost in the crafting…..but does ‘simple’ or quick preclude ‘fine craftsmanship’?

    I have more of a problem with ‘assemblage’ handcrafting, but perhaps that is another topic entirely. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Janice

  3. I think different segments of the community appreciate different things and that there is a place for everyone. What is probably more crucial as a seller is to attract the audience that has the same sensibilities as you do as a craftsperson.

  4. Nina, Even apart from the question of craftsmanship — that is a great point about finding the right market. Its one of the most challenging things for most of us I think. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Janice

  5. Thank you Tamra, Janice and Nina for your comments…there is still much more to think about…I’m almost there but it seems to be just out of reach.

    I don’t think simple precludes fine craftsmanship at all, except when it does – ‘…I’ll just bang these out ’cause I need something to sell….’ no thought to style, form or even filing.

Leave a Reply

 
