Pricing

I love to look thru Etsy, Artfire, 1000 markets, et al.  but, it just makes me crazy to see some of the prices…I saw a ring today that I thought was just great, the description read “hours of meticulous work” and it looked like it – sterling, no solder blobs, no visible seams, no file marks, etc…. $60. $60(!) for hours of meticulous work, design time, finishing, materials, time to photograph & photoshop, time to list, listing fees, etc.  $60….

It goes the other way too – last week, maybe two weeks ago I saw an Etsy store with some really unusual and pleasing jewelry pieces with prices that fit.  However, upon a closer look at the pictures, the craftsmanship was awful, just awful – one ring in particular was ridiculously bad – the solder seam was actually split – not a visible seam, the join was split open.  I know I tend to lean toward black and white, good or bad, this or that – but no one could look at the ring and think “that’s ok” and it was priced as if it were perfect.  Can someone talk me down* on pricing?

*unabashed liberal who loves Rachel Maddow

~ by khmetalwork on March 3, 2009.

4 Responses to “Pricing”

  1. I’ve noticed the same thing, it drives me nuts.

  2. *unabashed liberal who loves Rachel Maddow. I love Keith Oberman too.
    Stephanie

  3. Heh-heh…I’m with you on Rachel (and with Stephanie on Keith).

    All I have to say about this post it A-men. It makes me absolutely crazy too.

    And, unfortunately, the higher-priced crappy work gives the rest of us more skilled, quality-oriented craftsmen/women (with the appropriate prices to match our quality, talent and skills) a bad rep.

    First and/or beginner projects should NOT be sold at prices of professionals, etc. –Unless you are THAT good. It’s not that I don’t think these people should sell their wares. Although, heck, I didn’t sell many of my beginning projects until I had mastered a skill or technique…I mean, it’s almost a matter of ethics, in a way–at least to me.

    Not to mention, it just amazes me that people are willing to pay the higher prices for the crappy stuff, but often seem to think that the quality, more well-made pieces are too expensive. ;-p

    I’m all about a call for improved standards in this biz, but how the heck to do that? I have no clue.

    Great post.

  4. I imagine if you are just starting out on etsy and make beautifully crafted jewelry, sometimes we need to sell our pieces at a lower price until we have some sales and positive feedback and build up a reputation. Yes, I am more amazed when I see poorly constructed pieces selling way over priced. But I guess if a person does not make jewelry, it’s hard for them to recognize it was poorly made.
    Gosh, there are so many poorly made pieces, especially wire and metal jewelry, that I see publications!-and some of them tutorials.

Leave a Reply

 
