Something new for the new year

funky filigree

I am quite facsinated by filigree work mostly because I don’t have the patience to do it.  All those little wires…shaped, put into place and soldered – egad!  However, I love decorative wrought iron, think New Orleans and have always wanted to emulate that look.  I tried etching, carving wax, roller printing – nothing gave me the feeling I was looking for in the piece – these earrings come close.  They are light and big, almost 2 inches across and from the top of the finding that holds the ear wire to the bottom of the Akoya, they are about 2.75 inches long.

Here is the first pair I made, they are almost what I wanted, but they are a little too heavy (for me) and have a glaring mistake with bothers me no end…still…I wear them for a few hours here and there.  The next pair will be better.

Funky Filigree 2

~ by khmetalwork on January 23, 2009.

One Response to “Something new for the new year”

  1. I love the filigree…and also suddenly find myself laughing. Between fumble fingers and a wee bit of essential tremor, I regularly trash “small work” projects. And yet, working small has been my thing since college. What is it that compels one to love those arts that are the most challenging, and nearly beyond accomplishment? Maybe none other are worthy? Or are we masochists with design sense?

Leave a Reply

 
