Sloppy work

This is a vent, a rant, a pet peeve….sloppy work. I hate it. I’m specifically writing about jewelry, but the same holds true for any type of work. Visible seams, lumps of solder, file marks, etc…doesn’t the fabricator see these problems – don’t they think ‘we’ will see the problems? Gawd…no one is perfect, no thing is perfect, but at least try for something that leans toward perfection. Hammering a lump of solder doesn’t make it go away, it just flattens that lump of solder – take a file and remove the excess solder, takes no time and the piece will look so much better. Handmade work doesn’t have to look handmade.

Rant over.

~ by khmetalwork on January 11, 2009.

4 Responses to “Sloppy work”

  1. I could not agree with you more, you should see some of the stuff our vendors pass of as good workmen ship. We will not take anything that is not done with the best finish.

  2. Ahhh, I am glad someone said something!! I know my work isn’t as clean as a lot of people’s, however, I also don’t put anything out there for sale that isn’t ‘my’ best. People have been at me for a long time to sell, and I keep thinking -don’t they see those marks or that seam or the unfinished-ness of that piece!!??Just because others sell work that looks unfinished doesn’t mean I have to do the same.

  3. I am SO with you. When I look at a lot of the stuff on Etsy made by folks who call themselves “metalsmiths” and “jewelry artists,” sometimes I have to just force myself to take a chill pill because it really perturbs me to see people buying this stuff like it’s hot on the racks!

    Some of this stuff looks SO sloppy and shows really poor craftsmanship. The thing that really makes me want to scream sometimes is nasty, lumpy, shoddy bezel work. ;-P

    Am I a little envious that my stuff doesn’t seem to sell as quickly, especially after working my buns off to achieve (close to) perfection? Well, if I’m 100% honest I have to say a little.

    I’m with Janice–what takes me so long to post new items is that I will totally shelve any of my jewelry that does not reflect my best, most careful efforts. There are some things that I KNOW I could let slide occasionally, but I just can’t do it.

    Oh well. Thank you so much for posting this. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who feels this way.

  4. No, they don’t see it – they have either trained themselves not to, or have turned a blind eye to any criticism that implies that the work is not perfect – after all, they have buyers, the work MUST be good…..I’ll join you in the rant: since when does the mere fact of having a buyer constitute high quality? That is like saying a bruised fruit on the ground is as good as the perfect apple still hanging on the tree.

Leave a Reply

 
